Colchester New Comedian Of the Year New Act COMPETITION


Our 2016 heats will take place at the Mercury Studio in Colchester on the following dates (8pm starts):

Wednesday 5th October
(MC Rob Saunders, Headliner Carly Smallman)

Wednesday 12th October
(MC Abigoliah Schamaun, Headliner Jason

Thursday 13 October
(MC Edd Hedges, Headliner Charmian Hughes)


North Essex New Comedian of The Year was renamed Colchester New Comedian of The Year in 2011 .

Our 2015 competition took place as a part of Colchester Comedy Festival during September 2015

To enquire about taking part in the 2016 competition please email

This competition is open to acts who have done less than 150 gigs (prefereably with an East Anglian connection) who can perform between 5 and 7 minutes of comedy. Please email with details of your name, age, number of gigs performed and where you are based.

Our grand final will take place on Sunday 16th October at Colchester Arts Centre from 2.30pm to 5pm.
Headliner Harriet Dyer, MC Philip Simon.
There will be a short set from last year's winner Cheekykita.
The best 2 acts from each heat plus the best runner up will compete for our trophy and £100 prize.

If you are able to do a 5 minute set (up to 7min in the final), are currently not regularly being paid for gigs and have a connection to Colchester/East Anglia then please get in touch via detailing what heat you would like to do.



Our 2015 finalists
(from left):
Jason Simmons,
Jo Fletcher-Cross (joint 3rd), Carl Denham (2nd),
Daisy Jones,
Cheekytita (winner),
John Flockton,
Stephen Skilling,
Dave Bailey (partially hidden), Rob Saunders,
Jake Baker (joint 3rd)

Winner of our 2015 trophy was Cheekytita. Runner up in the final at the Colchester Arts Centre was Colchester's Carl Denham. Joint third place were Jake Baker and Jo Fletcher Cross. Thanks to everyone who took part and to the Minories and Colchester Arts Centre for being great venues!


Our 2014 winner, Thom Barrett, receives his prize from MC Paul Ricketts and competition organiser Hazel at Colchester Arts Centre.


Winner of our 2014 trophy in the final held at Colchester Arts Centre was Thom Barrett. 2nd place Liam Sullivan, 3rd place Dom Lister

Speech! 2011's winner David Traynier accepts his award and cash prize from MC Hazel Humphreys



Our new acts competition was renamed Colchester New Comedian of the Year and relaunched with heats at Slackspace Colchester with the final at Wivenhoe Funny Farm's new venue at Wivenhoe Town Cricket Club in May 2011. The final was an excellent standard featuring Aaron Spalding, Sam Warren, Chris Singleton, 3rd placed Ted Luff, 2nd placed Kerry Souter and this year's winner David Traynier. Pam Ford and Scott Capurro rounded off the entertainment brilliantly after the competition.


2009 winner Darren Maskell recieves the celebrated trophy and novelty cheque from Tony Cowards.

2009's North Essex New Comedian of the year heats and final took place at The Greyhound pub in Wivenhoe.

A hotly contested final resulted in surrealist comic Darren Maskell being crowned this year's NENCOTY comedy king. In second place was talented impressionist Piotr Walszuk. Bronze medal went to Braintree's deadpan Adnan Ahmed.

Judges included local poet, musician and writer Martin Newell, Frances Richards - Wivenhoe's ex lady mayor and journalist Anna Stenning.

Special commendations to the other talented finalists: Catie Wilkins, Dean Tolhurst, Ian Smith, Louisa Theobald. And everyone who took part in the heats.



This competition was held from January to February 2008 at The Bull pub in Colchester.

30 acts took part in three heats, leading to a grand final featuring the following acts:

Jane Hill
Nigel Numas
Richard Rycroft
Ben Van Der Velde
Dan McKee
Andrew Doyle
Dan Allen
Paul Byrne

Plus a stirring set from the fantastic Jade The Folk Singer.

The judges from Grapevine magazine and the Colchester Gazette had a tough time choosing between the acts, but finally our first winner Paul Byrne was crowned for his disturbingly surreal set.

Runners up were Ipswich's Andrew Doyle and writer Jane Hill.

2008 winner Paul Byrne recieves his trophy from our resident MC Tony Cowards.

You are viewing the text version of this site.

To view the full version please install the Adobe Flash Player and ensure your web browser has JavaScript enabled.

Need help? check the requirements page.

Get Flash Player